Hope for the Coming Years

  I am very interested in politics, which is something that started when we moved back to the United States after being in Germany for three years. I was eleven years old, and I had just started thinking about money, safety, and all of those types of things. So far 2016 has been sort of stressful for me as an American because of the upcoming presidential election. I remember too well the disappointment I felt that night when President Obama was re-elected. It had already been a horrible day (my brother was hospitalized for an infection in his broken finger, I was home alone with my siblings half the night anxiously watching the TV, so yeah) and that was just the cherry on top. Or should I say the anvil that smushed the whole sundae completely. I’m getting sidetracked here… Back to being stressed! 

I’ve watched almost all of the Republican debates, and I become flustered every time. I have so many questions about our future, so many things I want to happen with our country and not happen. I know who I do and who I definitely don’t want as our next president. I think about each statement from the candidates and analyze it and give my own opinion on it. I think it is good for all Americans, and especially Christians, to be active and involved in the electing of the right candidates for our country’s leading. Even though I still have a couple of years till I’ll be able to vote, I think it’s important that I be strong in my political beliefs from an early age. So I’ve said what I think Christians should do. I must say would Christians must not do. 

We must not forget our God. He is the one who is in control of everything. He is the one who is ultimately decides who is going to be our next Commander in Chief. He decides where our country is going. We can’t forget that, no matter how worried, angry, or anxious we become. We must do our duties as citizens of the United States of America and as (more importantly) citizens of the Kingdom of Heaven, and leave the rest in Gods hands. I have to remind myself of this all the time, because it is so easy to get caught up in these things and to forget that we have a Savior who asks us to give Him our burdens, because He knows that they’re just too much for us. Isn’t that amazing? So next time you get that feeling in the pit of your stomach, that nagging fear about where we’re headed as a country, remember to pray and give it all to God. He has never failed to bring me peace. 

Oh, and read Proverbs 10. In the end, the fool will fall, but blessings are on the head of the righteous. 

Leave a comment