Concerning Hobbits 

An old Frodo drawing of mine. 
What comes to mind when you read this title? “What on earth is a Hobbit?” Or maybe a bounty of memories. Images of magic rings, dragons, little creatures with curly heads and furry feet, wizards, elves, dwarves, wandering kings, and adventure spring into your head. Adventure aplenty. If you were the second person, you’ll understand my blog post. If not, read some Tolkien! Then come back later.

Anyone close to me knows I’ve been a little more than obsessed with the land of Middle-earth, and the world Tolkien created, for over 5 years now. My love for it has evolved, so to speak, in ways I couldn’t have anticipated when I was my nervous eight year old self watching the Lord of the Rings movies for the first time. From my parents and my older brother I knew they were scary movies with a scary creature that hisses “My preciousss,” and that the beginning had a pretty cool fireworks scene (which was the only scene I was allowed to watch for years). Looking back now, knowing how scared I was to watch those movies showing the story that has now become a part of me, I find it pretty funny. Yes, I was introduced to the movies before the books. *Gasp* I know, right? How unorthodox!

Well, anyway, I started to really like the movies. I mean really like. They became my most anticipated movie-night movies ever. I knew all the characters’ names, place names, and creature names. I listened to the soundtrack and drew scenes from the movies. “Could she possibly get any nerdier?” Yes, she could.  I’m mean, yes, I did. Because, the year the first Hobbit movie came out, my parents bought us a brand spankin’ new Lord of the Rings and Hobbit book set for Christmas. My big brothers’ edition had already been falling apart from use, and I guess my dad thought it was high time we read the books. I admit, it took me a while. But I finally got around to reading all four books. I think I read it and subconsciously compared it to the movies the whole time. Which is kinda sad. I really liked the books, but I read them hurriedly and didn’t pay much attention. That was the first time around. Less than two years later (when I was two years wiser) I picked it up again. I started the Hobbit in September, and by mid-June of the next year I was done with ROTK. I loved them so much. I was heartbroken as I read the last sentences, and I realized my adventures in the beautiful land of Middle-earth were finally at an end. I cried as I played over scenes in my head. The story was so deep and amazing, the characters more so. They felt like close friends, people I knew and loved. But sadly out of reach. That’s the “great tragedy” of reading fiction, I guess. Such a bittersweet feeling!

After falling in love with the books, I was faced with this question: do I like the books or movies better? Maybe some think that, as true “Tolkienite,” I should be completely loyal the books and disregard and boycott any movie that dares call itself after it. But I think that, as a true Tolkienite, I should enjoy both. Yes, Peter Jackson changed some things around for the movies (Tom Bombadil is very much missed!). But he was not making a “historically accurate” documentary of the books. He was using his own talents and his own story telling method to bring some of the most beloved books in modern times to the big screen. And I think he did a fantastic job! That being said, I think that I will always prefer the books. But that does not mean I have to like the movies less! They are almost incomparable though, since one is cinematic and the the other is literary. The Lord of the Rings movies continue to be my favorite movies (by which I critique all other movies), and The Lord of the Rings books continue to be my favorite books (by which I critique all other books). Does that make any sense?

Now I have yet to read the Silmarillion. That’ll be my next big novel feat. I’m hoping to start a curriculum type thing that will have me writing and studying and such to explore Christianity in Tolkiens life and writings. I can’t wait to begin!

Till next time, mellon‘s! Elen síla lúmenn’ omentielvo, a star shines on the hour of our meeting.

Here’s some of my Middle-earth art: 
I’m too cheap to buy the full version of Pic Collage to get rid of the water marks. Oh well. 
What’s your Middle-earth story? What do you think about the movies -vs- the books “argument”? Leave a comment! 

5 thoughts on “Concerning Hobbits 

  1. I don’t remember the first time I watched LOTR. I younger than 7 though. And I liked it right away. The Hobbit however… I liked the book a lot, and movie 1 & 3 were pretty good. But DOS was really off from the book and I’m really disappointed with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such an interesting post, Abbie! I really enjoy reading your blog. It always makes me smile. 🙂 I think I might do a LOTR post soon as well, to talk about what it means to me, how I came to read the books, and how I appreciate them. 🙂
    My best friend recommended the movies to me, and the very next Sunday the pastor at my church mentioned the movies in his sermon, so we decided to watch them. I was brand new to LoTR, so I didn’t know everyone’s names in the movies and I got mixed up a few times, but at the end of the trilogy, I WAS CRYING AND LAUGHING BECAUSE I LOVED IT SO MUCH.
    Next, I bought the books, and loved them even more. I DO think that Tolkien could do with a little less describing sometimes, but I don’t think it’s too bad.
    This was all about three years ago, and I am still proud to have the books on my shelf.
    I re-watched the movies again recently, and I found them much more enjoyable because I actually understood what everyone was doing. 🙂
    So that’s my story! I think I’ll write a post on it. 🙂 These are great movies.
    Oh, and the Hobbits! I ADORED the book, and even though the movies weren’t EXACTLY correct, I don’t mind it very much and I like that Peter Jackson used his talents to make the movies into something new that fans can enjoy, even if it’s not completely the same as the book.
    Thanks for the post! You’re good at drawing!
    -Phoebe
    p.s. This is probably the longest comment I’ve ever written. Ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aww, Phoebe your comment made me so happy! 😃 It was really sweet! I’m glad you enjoy reading my blog. I enjoy yours too. 😊 Thanks for sharing your “story.” I really like to hear that kind of stuff. And that’s so cool about your pastor. 😄

      I’m re-reading the Hobbit right now, and the first movie (which goes along with the first 6 chapters of the book) was hardly different from the book. It was almost word for word actually! I really like that. There is a certain magical quirkiness in the Hobbit that wasn’t so much in LOTR (the books) that I think Peter Jackson did a real good job portraying in the first movie. It (sadly) mostly went away in the next movies, as the story got darker and more complicated.

      But, anyway, it’s really sweet of you to take the time to comment! Thanks, it made my night! 💖

      Abbie
      PS: you should write a post about it! I look forward to it! 😁

      Like

Leave a Reply

