Fresh Eyes and Heart

WD_E8C2

Don’t you love coming home from church on a Sunday afternoon and just marveling at God? It’s an amazing feeling that nothing else really compares to. I love learning something new about my Best Friend and I seem to be doing this a lot, as I’m going to a church that really seems to dig deep into the character of God, and also as I’m growing in Christ and continuing to pursue a real relationship with Him. This week during a youth service we went over a well known few verses in the Bible: when Jesus calmed the storm and asked the disciples where their faith was. (Luke 8:22-25) It’s one of those Bible stories that you read or get read as a little kid over and over again. To the point where you think you know it so well and you don’t really explore it. But this time it was different for me.

I found myself in complete awe of Jesus! I imagined myself there with Him. I imagined Jesus standing up in the boat that was tossed by the terrifying waves and jerked by the savage wind, surrounded by men who really thought they were going to die, and rebuking the storm in a powerful voice. And then it stopping! Can you imagine being one of the disciples, and seeing that amazing power at work? Jesus’ followers had already seen Him raise the dead and heal many people, but this is the miracle that made them ask, “Who can this be?” I think the disciples knew that only God has authority like that, and this raw power really hit them like lightning. (Get it? Lightning? Okay, I’m done.) And all He says is “Where is your faith?” Wow.

It makes me think about all the times when I begin to freak out about one thing or another  without even thinking about praying. I’m sure Jesus would not have questioned them if they had been praying with true faith that God would save them if it was His will. But their minds were probably only filled with fear. This is a good reminder of how powerful our God really is, and how foolish it is to allow fear to overcome before remembering Who controls everything in our lives.

I want to encourage you guys to always look at the Bible with fresh eyes and a fresh heart. Always look for something new. Don’t allow your mind to be numb toward Scripture. You may be missing things without even realizing it! I’m going to try to be more intentional about this too, and I’m really looking forward to what I’ll learn!

Are you also trying to be more adventurous and intentional about your Bible reading? I’d love to hear about! Leave a comment below. 

 

2 thoughts on “Fresh Eyes and Heart

Leave a Reply

