August 13, 2016

Today was lovely. My version of a near-perfect Saturday. I woke up early and less than two hours later we were headed to downtown for the farmers market, which is always buzzing with friendly chatting adults, giggling kids, and ecstatic canines. I’ve never been to a busier or lovelier farmers market in my life, and being there just makes my heart happy. On our short walk from the car to the market I noticed a magical looking used bookstore inside an old town house. I knew I’d have to go inside at some time, and thankfully my parents let all 9 of us cram into the darling little shop. And it was amazing. The place smelled like old books and history and the tiny lanes were lined to the ceiling with hundreds of books, some older C. S. Lewis. I found a Hamlet copy from 1939, full of little notes and underlines. It came from the University of Wisconsin. And only cost $3, which was awesome! After that we went to the base, which felt nostalgic and homey since I haven’t been in close to half a year. We came home, put away our bounty of produce and bread from the market, and then relaxed. Which looked like two siblings and I binge watching The Flash. (Barry is the cutest everyone, don’t even try to argue.) Evening included making salsa with all that fresh stuff we bought in the morning, eating chocolate chip ice cream, and enjoying a gorgeous sunset and a breeze which has an autumn twinge in it. I hope you all had an equally lovely Saturday, and I hope you all have an even lovelier Sunday. 

4 thoughts on “August 13, 2016

Leave a Reply

