Guacamole! 

  

I have a confession to make. Thanks to a silly Rhett and Link music video, I can actually spell  🎶g-u-a-c-a-m-o-l-e — GUACAMOLE!!!🎶 

But long before I learned how to spell it, I learned how to make it. You could say that avocado runs in my veins. Chileans have a “thang” for avocado, and my Nana is no exception. She puts it mashed on toast, sliced on eggs, and even smeared on a hotdog! She takes half of one to work with her for a midmorning snack, sprinkled with a little salt and maybe some lemon juice. But for all this avocado consumption, guac isn’t something Chileans normally eat. What?! You heard me right. But it is the only way *SOME* people (my non Chilean mother and not-true-to-his-heritage brother) will eat avocado. So here’s our recipe for the best guacamole we’ve ever had. My Nana even likes it! 

You’ll need:

  • 4 ripe avocados, mashed to a rough consistency 
  • 1/2 of a very small red onion, or a quarter or so of a medium or large one, finely chopped 
  • 2 fat garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 lemon, 1 lime, or half a lemon and half a lime, juiced
  • Salt, to taste
  • Black and cayenne pepper, to taste
  • 2-3 teaspoons taco seasoning, or to taste (optional, but I really like it) 
  • A dash or two of cayenne-based hot sauce (another optional)
  • A handful of fresh cilantro, chopped

Additional ingredient: Small diced tomatoes would be amazing in this, but both my brother and dad gag at the very sight of a tomato, so I’ve only had tomatoes in my guac on very rare occasions. 

Directions:

Mash the avocado in a medium bowl. Add other ingredients and mix thoroughly, tasting every once in a while to see if more spice is needed. Serve with corn chips or on a Mexican dish. Try it on a hotdog! You may be surprised. 

2 thoughts on “Guacamole! 

  1. Yaayyy another recipe! I love guacamole. 🙂 That’s so cool that you like Rhett and Link too! 😀 Those guys are hilarious. 🙂
    I’m going to try this recipe soon since we happen to have quite a lot of avocados on hand just now…

    Like

Leave a Reply

