My Nana

image

Today is my beautiful grandmothers birthday, so I thought I’d write a bit about her.

My Nana was born in Chile, a country in South America. Her father was in the Chilean Air Force, and her mother was a housewife. My Nana had a hard childhood, and was even in an orphanage for several years. Her father went by himself to the U.S. to find work, and when she was a teenager in the early 1970’s he was able to send for the rest of the family to live with him in Miami, Florida. After a few years of working in restaurants and such, Nana enlisted in the U.S. Air Force and was stationed in Illinois. There she met my Pawpaw, a farm boy from northern Arkansas, who was also in the USAF. They were married in March 1974, and my dad came along in late November of the same year, and she “got out” of the military.

My grandparents lived in many different places, including three years in England (where my dad went to a private English school and acquired a temporary British accent – how cool is that?!), and my Pawpaws last PCS was Tucson, AZ. My Nana, dad, and aunt all came to Jesus when my dad was still a kid, and a couple years later my Pawpaw did also. They began to have real relationships with God, and started attending church

Nana loves Jesus very much, and He has blessed her in so many ways, one of her favorites being her 14 amazing grandchildren (I’m not bragging at all!). Nana has also blessed me countless times. I love talking with her, about anything from bread to the Bible. She encourages me in walking a godly life, and inspires me to stay strong through hard times. I love her so much, and I look forward to many more years with her.

image

What are some special things about your grandmother(s)? Leave a comment! 

4 thoughts on “My Nana

  1. This is a sweet post! My paternal Grandma is special because she is so caring, a good listener, and fun. She is one of the most encouraging people I know! We play games, and talk for hours. My maternal Grandma is also amazing. She is a great gift giver, and comes faithfully to watch many events that my brothers and I participate in! ❤ She also teaches me how to cook Finnish recipes!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment