Being an Entrepreneur is Hard


I read an article called (I’m paraphrasing) “How to know you’re meant to be an entrepreneur.” One of the reasons was, if you started businesses all the time as a kid. I definitely did that. When I was seven I planned a lemonade stand at my grandmas house (she lives on a very quiet, not busy street but that didn’t deter me). After that I gave massages for a dime, ran a “library” with my own books out of my room, started a homemade cookie business, inspired garage sales, babysat, and had a million business ideas. I would have so much passion for my business idea early on. I would get a rush of pure energy and excitement as I planned it out. And then reality would set in and my dreams would take a back seat. I sold so many cookies, but I never actually made a substantial amount of money because I would use all my earnings to buy ingredients. It was fun, but not profitable. I lived in Tucson for 6 months and found a small coffee shop that would sell homemade crafts for free, so I meticulously crocheted several sets of washcloths, packaged them prettily, and priced them accordingly. I was so excited. I sold 2 sets out of the 4 or 5 I made. Then the business shut down, and I never got my unsold washcloths back. Time after time my “business ventures” have ended in disappointment. And for someone like me who has never had a desire to go to college, it was especially discouraging. If I couldn’t even succeed in selling something little and cheap, how was I supposed to make a living as an adult? Babysitting is fine, but it can be unpredictable and you can’t always fall in love with your clients (I have been very blessed by some great babysitting jobs over the years, so don’t give up!) 

That’s where Young Living comes in. My mom discovered Young Living essential oils when I was 15, and began working as an independent distributor at the same time. At first she struggled a lot. It was rough to see her work so hard and only one person show up to her oil parties (this has happened more than 3 times in only one year and a couple months of having parties). I would even shed a few tears about it sometimes; it just hurt me to know she felt like a failure or like she wasn’t doing good enough. I could sympathize with that. Once I turned 16 I too became an independent distributor. It’s been a slow beginning for me as well, but not as bad as her because by the time I started my mom had a good support system going and was able to build my down line. But I have a unique problem — my friends are not grown women with a paycheck, they are broke teens who are overwhelmed with school and cars and college and LIFE. How am I supposed to be successful and help my friends if they can’t even afford it? For the most part I have yet to figure this out. How to pursue a passion that I’ve always had, maintain amazing relationships, and reach people I care about with something as life changing as essential oils are without them thinking I see them as extra cash or them seeing me like a crazy hippy witch. One day I hope to have girls like me to throw oil parties with, celebrate small victories with (like making Senior Star!), and educate people with. But for now it’s me and mom. I get a paycheck every month, I help people with their oil questions all the time, and I assist my mom every day. My end goal, if it’s God’s will, is to continue making rank and reach a point where I COULD be completely independent. I’d love to buy a house and be able to make it “mine”. Sometimes this seems improbable and like wishful thinking, but I know this business won’t just drop out from under me like every other of my ideas has. I finally have an outlet for my passion, and this time it seriously helps people and I’m confident in the products I’m representing, because I was skeptical at first but then I actually experienced them and I could hardly believe it. 

God made each of us with different passions: some have a great talent with animals, some with children, some with the hurt and dying, some with struggling people overseas, some with art, music, dancing, some with sciences or teaching. And some  (like the forgotten portions of Proverbs 31, verses 13, 16, 18, and 24 in particular) with entrepreneurship.  When someone asks you what you’re doing for college, you can say with confidence “I am/hope to be an entrepreneur.” If you’re building your business (whatever it may be) in a God honoring way, it’s not something to be ashamed of. You are not greedy or less intelligent compared to your more academic peers because of your career choice. You don’t shirk from hard work and being creative and putting yourself out there to survive. And that’s why it’s hard, but oh so amazing, to be an entrepreneur. 

Leave a Reply

