2016 


This year. I don’t really think I can define it as really good or really bad. Health-wise I didn’t feel great. It felt like one thing after the other all year, whether it was random pains or stomach issues or just a lack of energy and motivation. Ick. School-wise I kinda failed. My room was messy most of the time. I didn’t keep up with my chores or what went into my stomach. I ate sugar and drank coffee even though they made me feel sick. I didn’t publish half as many blog posts as I wanted to. I spent way too much time on social media. I didn’t write as much as I wanted too. I did hardly any reading outside of school (and Bible of course), which included a vast amount of books, and classics too. But still, I didn’t even try to make time.

 I was also busier than I’ve ever been this year. I made friends that require you to actually see them in person to get to know them. All 2015 I bemoaned the fact that I had no friends, but all 2016 I realized how hard it is to make friends! It’s one of the hardest things I did this year! Some people I thought I would click with I didn’t, and people I never would have expected to click with I did! I realized that you need that click in an acquaintance to really become friends with them, which is a really odd sensation. Some days I just wanted to cry with frustration about how hard it is (some days I actually did). But the relief and joy I got from clicking with people was so great. I realized I’m not that much of a weirdo, people do have the capacity to like me. I have this thing where, when I’m getting to know people, I want to share everything with them. I become like an open book, and later on it embarrasses me when I realize that people probably don’t even care. Some people made me really comfortable opening up to them though, and I’m so grateful to them because I really need that. 

I was also busy with actual work this year! I babysat, started a business, and volunteered at church. I had responsibilities to other people, not just myself and my family. Lots of lessons learned there too. 

My church experience was unlike anything else I’ve ever experienced in my life. I really ate up sermons. I cried during worship. God spoke to me directly through all of it. I also gained a loving church family, one that has blessed us so many times. I made friends with wise adults and was encouraged by them. I learned a lot about God overall. 

So this is super long already, but I would like to give you all a rundown of my year by the month! 


January

Not much happened. We painted our house and unpacked boxes. I drank a lot of cappuccinos, watched Pride and Prejudice (’95), and did school. 


February:

My Nana and Pawpaw visited and we went on a train to Santa Fe. On the 13th I attended a Dating and Relationships seminar at church for all the youths. It was really helpful and informative! 


March

I turned 16! I got my own Young Living Starter Kit as a present. I also found out that my mom was expecting my 10th sibling (counting baby Hope in heaven). 


April:

My great aunt and great uncle, my mom’s cousin, and her kids came for a visit. We explored the petroglyphs only minutes away from our house with them, which was so cool! My aunt and uncle and 6 cousins also came for a visit. My baby brother Elam (which means “forever” in Hebrew) went to be with Jesus and my sister Hope. It was very hard for me to deal with and my heart hurt a lot, but God sustained me through it. 


May:

I got a new pupper! Mollie was the highlight of the month. My Nana and Pawpaw visited again and we went on the train to Santa Fe again. I also got a haircut I regretted but it’s all good now. 😂


June

My aunt surprised my mom for her birthday and visited! We had so much fun with her. 


July

This was when things really started to get busy! VBS was so much fun! I made a new friend (hi Caitlyn!), and got barely any sunburn. There was also a ball, which I was so nervous about but turned out to be some of the most fun I had all year. Also I started another great friendship because of Air Force, fandoms, and weirdness (Emma, you know who you are. 😂) 


August:

A considerable portion of my church left to start a church plant including one of my friends, so everyone was already a little sad. But then the Sunday of their sending off Pastor did a sermon and mentioned, his voice breaking with tears, a family who had lost a child and a job in one year and still trusted God through it. I don’t know if he was talking about my family or not but my tears would not stop flowing. I couldn’t stop crying the rest of the sermon. Talking afterwards was difficult. I called my Nana as soon as we got home from church and told her about it and she encouraged me an comforted me. Thankfully she came for a visit only a week or so later, bringing my Pawpaw and Tío with her. This month I also started getting constant neck and head pain. 

September:

We took a trip to Flagstaff and Tucson, AZ just for fun. We visited the Grand Canyon too! 


October:

My Grandma and Grandpa flew in for a visit. We went to Santa Fe on the train (again 😂), and also to the top of the Sandia mountains which was so amazing! This was also the month Elam was due, so I was a little melancholy all October imagining how happy this month could have been, but also rejoicing in how his little life blessed us! 


November:

I attempted NaNoWriMo but was not successful. I did a lot of shopping and babysitting this month! My aunt, uncle, 6 cousins, and Nana and Pawpaw came for Thanksgiving and my dad’s birthday, which was SO much fun! I also visited the doctor about the pain that started in August and she diagnosed me with tight muscles in my neck and shoulders, and prescribed me massages and helpful essential oils. A relieving visit to be sure! 


December:

My sister had a super fun sleepover for her birthday and we didn’t go to sleep until 4 am. We saw Rogue One on opening day, and it was really great! 😂 I went to 2 Christmas parties and had a lovely Christmas overall. 

So that was pretty much it! How was your year overall? 

3 thoughts on “2016 

  1. Yes, I think it’s so hard to classify a year as either “good” or “bad.” I’m sure everyone’s was a mix of both. In hindsight, I’m tempted to say my year was good overall, but it really wasn’t: I went through health problems and relationship problems and some periods of really deep anxiety and depression. But I also had so much fun, made some amazing new friends, and my depression/health problems brought me closer to God. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

